‘Gonna Blind Anybody (who gets in my way) – Short Song)

Wrote this one waiting to pump gas at a station. Ran home early that day and recorded it in 8 hours. Guess it shows? No second verse was ever really in the cards after I threatened to murder any competitors!

Happily, no one ‘got in my way’. Must’ve scared ’em off, and going on 17 years now. Time to apologize for being kinda hot-headed?

Lyrics:

Only a girl
(But this is my girl)
Only one night
(But it’s tonight)
Only a kiss
(But for a kiss like this-)
I’m gonna blind anybody who gets in my way

Verse:

I got a girlfriend
Love her all the time
Nothing come between us
I’m hers and she’s mi-i-ine

Only a girl
(But this is my girl)
Only one night
(But it’s tonight)
Only a kiss
(But for a kiss like this-)
I’m gonna blind anybody who gets in my way

 

What you gonna do ?
You wanna talk to somebody?
Think you got a problem.. (well, maybe?)
I’m gonna blind anybody who gets in my way

Only a girl
(But this is my girl)
Only one night
(But it’s tonight)
Only a kiss
(But for a kiss like this-)
I’m gonna blind anybody who gets in my way

 

2 thoughts on “‘Gonna Blind Anybody (who gets in my way) – Short Song)

  1. solberg73 Post author

    Thanks, and good ears. Yes, its claim to fame is the intensity of the (somewhat infantile) declaration.
    And the real ‘driving energy’ was me driving home on Route 4 screaming to myself the lyrics and melody, so I shouldn’t lose it. Even in those days I’d often forget both the tune … and the fact that I’d written it. Lots of nicely-furry ideas ended up as only a Cheshire cat’s smile. I now pen most of my work nekkid, standing by the refrigerator’s dim light in the middle of the night. The alternative (forgetting it) is more horrid.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

