“If/ When U Come/Go Home”: Song

Nothing consoles a dear soul fearing having been jilted like imagining the entire Bright-Side Baptist Church choir agreeing to ‘be there for ya’ on the chorus back-up.

I’m hoping that any reader, no matter how un-eventful his/her love-history, can identify with sitting, wasting one’s precious life-moments waiting for a lover who was supposed to be ‘home’ already.
The maroon-gowned singers, who needeth not my musical notes, would’ve sung from the heart….for ‘Jesus’s Second Coming’ or whatever apocalyptic re-appearance I dreamed of.

In the end, the prodigal-daughter  here did ‘come home’… and with an excuse that I accepted in a ‘willing suspension of disbelief’. What else could I do?
However.. ‘suspension’ reminds one of ‘A bridge too far’, or else W.C. Fields famously grousing about a fellow wearing suspenders: ‘How can ya trust a Man who can’t trust his own belt?!’

It took the singer/ writer/victim  here another year, thereabouts, to consider re-recording the tune with altered lyrics: “Won’t you go home!” Please!
At any rate, enjoy the moment:

Oh, and for the former Colonists: enjoy your fireworks today. King George is Dead. I appreciate the feeling “Hey, you want tea, buddy..It’s right here on the sea-bottom.” 

Strikes me that Independence is definitively not sitting, as in this tune,  by the phone waiting for someone to whom  you’d stupidly  given administrative rights to set/re-set your ‘Happiness’ level.

Happy Independence Day!

Lyrics:

 

If You come home
I’m gonna be so good to you

When you come home Baby…
I’ll be so good to you
When you come home

You know I tried, I tried, I tried, I can’t try no more..
Y’ know I just sit right here,
and I watch the door

You know there’s changes, changes, changes for you, changes for me, girl
An’ I know we live and learn
But what are we living for?
I’ll be there to open that door

Come back, Baby
What are you waiting for?

Girl, I’ll be there to open that door
I’ll be so good to you
You know I’m gonna be so good to you, Baby
When you come home…

Oh, Sugar…
-Instr-

‘We’ll start all over?’
When you come home . (Lather, rinse, and and repeat to well past midnight……. OK, 6AM)

 

 

12 thoughts on ““If/ When U Come/Go Home”: Song

  1. promisesunshine

    I enjoy the back up info as much as the songs.
    I especially like that business about administrative rights.
    Also, let it be known that you had crossed my mind seconds before your post showed up in my email.
    Not that I’m waiting here by my computer for notice of your posts. Because that would be weird and a little pathetic. No matter how big a fan I am.
    I should look it up. An acquaintance made the ideal comment about this particular 4th. Thinking about what America can be (and presumably will be again.) Let freedom ring.

    Reply
    1. solberg73 Post author

      Love it: both the comment and the feeling of ‘immediacy’.
      My classmate from HS who has served three administrations at the highest levels (beer-parties in the Oval Office) echoed your sentiments on the phone this week: a nation this strong will not be rotted out by one bacterial/viral infection. Let us both hope.
      On the song: I enjoyed singing it with all those supportive souls behind me. 16 ‘me’s; how can I not feel emboldened?

      Reply
    1. solberg73 Post author

      I’m innocently searching the text/audio for any sin I might have overlooked; one for which I deserve a rebuke.
      If the charge is exaggerated blind trust of ladies… I’ve suffered enough. ‘Time served’

      Reply
  2. somewittyhandle

    On this day (yesterday now), 5 great British blokes: Franklin, Adams, Jefferson, Sherman, and Linvingston, declared themselves to be no longer British. This with the blessing of the Motherland, by and large. Right was on their side. We’ve been waiting for them to ‘come home’ for 241 years. I wonder what their story will be. But they’ve been wonderful friends and allies in the interim. Who knew the tail would eventually wag the dog?

    King George was a putz. Imagine, if you can, what it must be like to have a putz running the country (equally unthinkable in USA and Israel).

    The song captures the agony of waiting very effectively. The idiom expects a cycle of tension-release-tension-release, but the releases never quite materialise. Hitchcock-like.

    Reply
    1. solberg73 Post author

      Duncan, I do multiply your comment-count by at least five, to reflect the ‘food-for-thought’ nutritive value.
      Good question: was George incompetent already at age 71? (I spent a few fruitless minutes searching for the name of the monarch who had an appetite for straw; ‘John’?; I’d heard of him in my early youth.
      Wondering whether the strong historic bond is largely explainable by the common language?
      (This after deciding, last night, not to retire before hearing from Google an authoritative definition for ‘gob-smacked’ and ‘chuffed’. ) so much for common tongue…
      As usual, hearing your ‘take’, I’ll now need to re-listen to the tune for sub-conscious audible echoes of’ the waiting game.’ I do suspect that you are on to something, by past records.
      (Of course do I recall telling Melville: ‘That fish, y’know, she’s yer Mom, archetypically !’
      He only blocked me on e-mail, I’m assuming, cuz he didn’t want to face the truth.
      Anyway, I’m kinda proud of grasping the ‘independence’ theme here. Only when I became equivocal on the prospect of her appearance at the threshold or not) did I have the emotional power to make a cup of coffee, and finish my neglected cross-stitch project for the foyer wall.

      Reply
      1. somewittyhandle

        Call me Ishmael, but unless Ahab was bottle-fed, he’d be able to verify that his mother was a mammal.

        Of course I do George an injustice. His words to John Adams, face to face in 1785 were:
        “I was the last to consent to the separation; but the separation having been made and having become inevitable, I have always said, as I say now, that I would be the first to meet the friendship of the United States as an independent power.”

        A good model for divorce, I always thought.

        Reply
        1. solberg73 Post author

          I’d been fine with a ‘re-marriage’ these days, with the proviso that the pre-nup sends the current WH resident to Elba, and without visitation.
          As to cetacean-affairs ; though the plot be complex (Ishmael, Ahab, Moby, ) all the actors are mammals. So why can’t they just hug and get along?

          Reply
  3. eleanorio

    I don’t know. This one makes me want to grab my banjo and beg Bill Bailey to please come home. Anything. Just make this infernal waiting stop!

    Reply
    1. solberg73 Post author

      Aha! At least- new ‘search terms’ in my quest. To understand prodigality. ‘Won’t you come home, Bill Bailey..’ That much I do remember.

      Reply
      1. solberg73 Post author

        And since ‘Facts are stranger than fiction’: having just now read the lyrics, I’ll confess to having kept, for 39 years, the ‘fine-toothed comb’ she ordered me to use meanwhile to de-flea her two cats while she was out gallivanting. Bone handle, in those days.
        Sad that the literary/ referential irony is at least 7 stories over her head, otherwise it’d be a deep moment between us.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

