‘Bi-polar Bear’: The song’s either half-full or half-empty, depending on mood:

Can’t remember why I didn’t finish this tune. Must have lost the spark, that essential joy of living without which one lies in bed, unable to even recall what good times might have felt like.
Friends console you with ‘Don’t worry, be happy’ and equivalent cliches. You appreciate the effort, but are now even more depressed; can’t even trust a pop aphorism these days!

Of course the feeling is transitory. A second verse will splash into your newly-optimistic skull in a blinding reverie some day. Not to worry. Oh, and so ‘be happy!’, meanwhile. Maybe try forced smiling? As if gawking at yourself in the mirror as a ‘What, me worry?‘ gargoyle is the path to recovery(!)

Anyway this tune is a hypothetical case of the singer having opted to exit, to give up on ‘fixing’ his once-huggable dear one. Sadness.

But playing the violin parts is its own reward. Safely in Seattle
Second verse gladly accepted.

Lyrics:

Bye polar bear, I’m headed for the Orient.
I know it’s not fair
But that’s the way the story went
I ride on your see-saw
Saw it wasn’t funny
Don’t like it like that;
You can keep the money

By the time you read this message in a bottle
I’ll be sleeping in Seatle, dicking with the throttle
Break it up, break it down, ahh 
shake it all around
‘Bye, Polar bear’

 

7 thoughts on “‘Bi-polar Bear’: The song’s either half-full or half-empty, depending on mood:

  1. somewittyhandle

    At last! I’ve been waiting for some time for another pearl from the Mediterranean. This one strings itself straight onto the necklace. There is something tragic about the resolute cheerfulness. Reminds me in a way of the sense of denial in ‘Je ne Regrette Rien.’

    Reply
  2. somewittyhandle

    Bye Polar Bear, it’s not you, I’ve had enough
    Keep the questionnaire
    too much open-ended stuff
    I pull up the drawbridge
    Fill up the moat
    Where I’m going you can’t follow
    Not in that fur coat

    Reply
  3. solberg73 Post author

    Well, I blush at comparisons to Piaf, but the fellow here can at least say ‘We’ll always have the See-Saw, dearie’
    I like your 2nd verse; I have too many ‘half-full’ tunes, and of course dreamed of proffered help from my intuitive fellow-writer here.
    Having recently emerged from an episode of the previously-unknown ‘up-then-down’ sinusoidal blues I chose this tune as perhaps an auto-biographical victory-hymn.

    Reply
  4. promisesunshine

    Bye polar bear, I’m done playing in the snow
    You can’t wonder why
    After all this time, I’ll let it go
    I’m taking off my overcoat
    Saying hello to sunny days
    my blues are in the sky
    my eyes are in an upward gaze

    Songwriting, not my thing. But I get a star for playing along?

    Reply
    1. solberg73 Post author

      You sure do get points: Ima gonna combine your input with Duncan’s, (I like the snow reference.
      Now to see if I can still sing it in the original key…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

