‘Breaking up is hard to do’? : Song- ‘Asleep at the Wheel’

Actually, after you get the tools and ducks (in the previous tutorial) in line, ‘goodbye’ songs become remarkably cheap ‘n easy.
I must note that I’ve not personally ‘broken up’ with all that many ‘significants’.

I, (or Eleanor Rigby?), wrote these as exercises. You say to yourself at 7:39 AM ‘Ok, that’s all she wrote, girl’ and vow to never speak to her again!
By 2:30 in the afternoon, some devil’s advocate in your brain/conscience has already made a case for re-thinking it all.
‘Nobody’s perfect’, you tell her on the phone, all the while wondering how anyone could be more ‘imperfect’!
But meanwhile you have a new song in the bin. In this one the Hammond plays a supporting role. Enjoy…

Lyrics:

Verse One

I’m not asleep at the wheel
I’m a dreamer, with a license to kill
I stayed till the end of the show, now it’s over
Easy come, easy go

Directions simple and easy to follow:
Just respect for the dead
I turn my face to the wall; I’m bleeding
But ‘it’s nothing’ you said
Chorus:

Long enough to wonder why I met you.. and say goodbye
Long enough to say goodbye, I’ll let you wonder why…

Verse Two

No time to wait; I’m a part of the action at the end of the road
You gave me promises made to be broken Too good to be true
I’ll leave my cards in the place where I found them; face down in the mud
You bet my future away but I let you
Now I’ll pay for the ride

Long enough to wonder why I met you.. and say goodbye
Long enough to say goodbye; I’ll let you wonder why

Instr-
Recap-

I’m not asleep at the wheel, I’m a dreamer, with a license to kill
You gave me promises made to be broken Too good to be true
I’ll leave my cards in the place where I found them; face down in the mud

I stayed till the end of the show, but now it’s over
Easy come, easy go

Long enough to wonder why I met you.. and say goodbye
Long enough to say goodbye; I’ll let you wonder why

23 thoughts on “‘Breaking up is hard to do’? : Song- ‘Asleep at the Wheel’

    1. solberg73 Post author

      Neil was sick that day, so I sufficed with 3-part.
      (I seriously need to find the ‘worth every minute’ time to assess AMB’s often-complimented harmonies.)
      And I hope you enjoyed the Hammond-izing. My dependable friend; its 500kilo ballast in the VW van kept me on the road homeward from many a gig,awake or asleep at the wheel.

      Reply
          1. somewittyhandle

            After further listenings: I know it’s none of my business, but I really think you need to get the thing out of storage in the milking parlour, and into action again. It’s probably thinking the same about you.

            Reply
            1. solberg73 Post author

              Great comment on man’s relationship with tools. She cries nightly, I can only assume.
              That army mantra comes to mind:
              This is my gun
              Without it, I am Nothing
              Without me, it is Nothing
              Somewhere here is a photo of my beloved brother ‘lift-trucking’ it through the 2nd floor double doors we used to stock ‘cow chop’ on the floor there for the gravity feeders during milking. Cows gave more milk if they had something to munch on during the twice-daily ‘let-down’.
              Helped ’em to fantasize that the Surge/De Laval teat-grabber replicas were actual loving mini-bovine progeny. Quadruplicates ?

              Reply
              1. somewittyhandle

                I recall now that when I briefly worked on a small dairy farm 35 years ago (at Kibbutz Eilot), they played Haydn string quartets to the Friesians, in the belief that it increased the milk yield. I have no doubt that Leslie rotating speakers would augment this benefit.

                Reply
                1. solberg73 Post author

                  The ‘literature’ on this is equivocal. The Israeli world-record for milk-output may well be assigned to other factors..
                  3X daily milkings? Or mebbe it’s the ‘Your Fate’ tryptichs hanging on the parlour walls, with cuts of beef ominously labeled.

                  Reply
          2. solberg73 Post author

            Me, sometimes with help from an errant Amazon woman I’d chosen for her biceps, etc.
            Ok, maybe ‘500kilo ‘is a high estimate? Things can seem heavy when yer high.
            It’s supported by a well-designed dolly. Oops, already said that…

            Reply
  1. melfamy

    Great tune, Yoni! Leonard Cohen meets Steely Dan, a summer song for lovelorn intellectuals.
    I survived another coronary incident, they popped a stent in there, and the doc says I’m as good as new, as long as I restrict my diet to pills and the water needed to wash them down. I guess my days playing the neighborhood Batman are over.

    Reply
    1. solberg73 Post author

      ‘lovelorn intellectuals.’ dat’s us!
      Glad to hear it from you,( the incident.) From the race-horse’s mouth. Out to pasture, or stud, but a killer like you never dies easily.

      Reply
  2. promisesunshine

    Life gives songs, poetry, and art, but only if you’re living it.
    This one is fabulous too. I think WTH or maybe it’s SWH nailed the Crosby,et al link. Well done on the lyrics. This tune deserves some air time. (which it shall receive in my little place)
    I’m glad you’ve typed the lyrics out, the ‘”it’s nothing” you said’ vs ‘it’s nothing you said’ is a rather huge difference. (Having decided then to listen/watch closely, I noticed that it’s “waste” rather than “wait”.)
    The Hammond is great. I began my paltry keyboarding with a Kimball (not my choice, to be clear). You’ve a way around the keys.

    Reply
    1. solberg73 Post author

      Nothing I’ve created is out there on the net. Feel like a dinosaur, I guess. (There was once an attempt with ‘Soundclick’ I thought it was the next big move, but it moveth not.) Suggestions?

      Reply
      1. eleanorio

        Soundcloud and Youtube are the only ones that come to mind. If you have a paid WP account, you can host audio and video on it, but I’m kind of cheap. So, can’t really recommend anything else.

        Reply
        1. solberg73 Post author

          I do have a paid WP ‘addition’. They keep scolding me that I’m using only 2% of my ‘cloud’.
          Hard these days to do much of anything with songs, other than to relish hearing ‘Bravo’ from discerning friends.

          Reply
          1. eleanorio

            Well, if I ever get inspired to post some of my own vocalizations, I’ll look in to upgrading my subscription. Thanks for the info.

            Reply
  3. solberg73 Post author

    Incredible. Or actually, by now, expectable. Both of those line could go either way, and I sat for 5 minutes pondering how to transcribe ’em. I do remember while recording the tune having similar question marks. Almost reminds me of Neil Armstrong on the Moon changing the script.
    Thanks so much for the compliments. You get a free copy, as always/ JS

    Reply
  4. Roadkill Spatula

    The Hammond organ in the right ear was delightful.
    Cool chiasmus in the “Long enough” portion.
    And now I’ll spend the rest of the morning pondering the parallels (or lack thereof) between “a license to kill” and “an hour to kill”.

    Reply
    1. solberg73 Post author

      I very much love your comments, RK/Tim. Becuz a U I now know what I was doin’ in the chorus. and in Latin to boot. (I’ll toss the word around next time I’m in Latin America.)
      Right ear? I’d thought I ‘centered’ that track. Have to check.
      Like Salinger… and Newton, I’ll ‘make no conjecture’ about the license to kill. Prolly just cuz it rhymed. Kinda like the guys chasing ‘Rosebud’ in Citizen Kane.
      I do apologize for any (unintended) mental torments. , And again, thanks for listening wid yer good ears.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

