Anyone else being slammed by 629?

Ok, I need to write this in a style ‘popularized‘ by the smuggled prison letters inked in blood on toilet paper. There, I’ve already said too many key words.

I have a problem/ may have a problem with the gang referred to in the title. Who are they, in plain text? well, count the alphabet letter by letter up to each of the digits and you should then know. They ‘live’ in a small state made out of the left-hand part of a larger one named after some Virgin Queen.
Now you’ll need a tracker such as my beloved StatCounter in order to ‘see’ them at work. Otherwise you’ll just be happy for the 20 hits a day and never know that half of them are bots. FarceBook, Google, etc. update minute-by-minute on every word we write. (And also follow along like dog-poop stuck to the bottom of a shoe whenever one takes a random look at his own archived posts.
But it’s the 629 drones I’d love to know more about. Have I done something of particular of interest? Are they judging the sales-potential of my songs for a possible cut of the profits? Or am I prima fascia a bad guy for living in a country not of my birth, and a troubled one at that?
Ok, probably none of the above. But still then, why gumshoe me ten times a day; nothing better to do? And I guess it’s rather too late to tape over the laptop camera. They already know I wear glasses and could use a haircut.

I snuck a peek behind the stair/
Saw seven bots who ‘weren’t there‘./
They weren’t there again today
So, who do I gotta blow to make ’em, like go away?

17 thoughts on “Anyone else being slammed by 629?

    1. solberg73 Post author

      Oy, I remember when 1984 sounded like the distant future. I read the Weekly Reader as a kid and waited for the utopia knocking on the door.
      Ok, Amazon might send me a book, but the helicopter will return to base with a load of attendant info. Think ads for lawnmowers, or worse, a report on every genus and species of plant I cultivate.

      Reply
    1. solberg73 Post author

      I just assumed you knew about trackers. My hands-down favorite is StatCounter. Free, a breeze to install, and a pleasure to work with. i’ve enjoyed its services for years now. Nothing hits my site without my being able to ID it. (And if you do use it, tell me whether you get the multi-hits from Clarksburg, W VA. I’m assuming for now that it’s nothing personal, but who knows.

      Reply
      1. happierheathen

        I generally detest trackers, and largely because they pretend to tell the whole, accurate story and just like server logs there’s no way that they possibly can. But I’m curious now to see what’s to see, so will set that critter up and let you know.

        Reply
            1. solberg73 Post author

              And no visits from Clarksburg, WVA? The ID of the bot (or overzealous functionary) is impossible to miss. Ok, so I’m a specific target? Glad I got nuttin to hide then

              Reply
              1. happierheathen

                No visits from anywhere in the vicinity, even, but it’s only been about a day so there’s plenty of time for me to come to the attention of those with power.

                It’d sure be nice if innocence were a defense… 😀

                Reply
  1. whyzat

    So, you’re seeing drone aircraft outside your windows and a certain federal organization is keeping track of your Internet usage? Are they also reading your mind and attempting to control your thoughts? Are your neighbor’s barking dogs actually undercover agents tempting you to commit a crime?
    No! It is a consortium of otherworldly aliens who seek to conquer Earth! They are keeping track of the intelligent, less gullible humans, who could interfere with their plan. They know that they can control the credulous and superstitious simply by influencing TV networks to keep producing shows like “Finding Bigfoot” and “Ghost Hunters.”
    See? There is a simple explanation for everything!

    Reply
    1. solberg73 Post author

      Aha, just what I needed. The puzzle piece which also explains why my car routinely refuses to start when I take it for inspection.
      Seriously, at some point the citizens will revolt over the revolting invasions of simple privacy, even those such as I who have nada to hide.

      Reply
    1. solberg73 Post author

      I’m mostly quizzical about the personalized service; is it something I’ve said? A dangling preposition up vith vitch they shall not put. (My ‘double-you’ key has deserted me, perhaps forever,)

      Reply
  2. eleanorio

    At another blogging place, my traffic checker would tell me that someone in the US government was reading my output. I got all upset until I remembered that one of my most avid followers works for some minor government office and was reading me from work. Maybe that’s what’s going on here?

    Reply
    1. solberg73 Post author

      ell, good nevs in your case at least. I certainly don’t knov anyone vorking for the bureau mentioned in the title Guess this is yet another post visout learning much.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

