To My Dear Lancaster-ComcastReader:

    First of all, re-set your bookmark/favorites to point to the simple http://www.xanga.com/jsolberg generic entry page. This way you won’t have to click your way from that 2009 post you use/read  in order to get to something current.
   
Second, you may be unaware of the fact that I see reports here twice a day of your  navigational progress. Yes, this is a totally public website, but perhaps you could find a way to identify yourself. If you have a Xanga site, a quick comment explaining your interest will suffice. I believe there is still a provision for anonymous comments in place too, although I need to check that. And if you have my email address, {solberg73 at gmail} what better than to send me a short letter demystifying your nightly readingss. I myself am not sure whether to feel flattered or uneasy, and a word to the confused should be sufficient.

And finally, yes, at times our relationship here reminds me of a date-rape scene, but in which the perpetrator fails to find the victim…oh...interesting. Secrets, such as they are, are heavily veiled. Try Audio, I’m suggesting. Tons of original songs there, each with its own juicy meal. In four-part harmony, some of ’em recorded in Conestoga.
No, I’m not angry, not at all. Just perplexed/ js


ADD/UPDATE: Great! Now just say ‘hi’ and we’ll be friends forever, if we weren’t already.

16 thoughts on “To My Dear Lancaster-ComcastReader:

  1. Lovegrove

    Youse got Lurkers? I got lurkers! I wonder if the lurkers got lurkers.It can be irritating. Sometimes, I get waves of ’em, as if a Korean fishing fleet has tied up on the pier and don’t report to the harbour master.

    Reply
  2. jsolberg

    @Roadkill_Spatula – Nah, not likely. I always recognize Beth’s ISPs, plus we had such a nice time when we met last year; I’m sure she prefers to wait for in-person presents.I took a chance posting this; since I simply want to know who it is, and now I may have scared the squirrel deeper into the forest. Oh well.

    Reply
  3. ordinarybutloud

    Not likely, re: the squirrel. I get lurkers all the time from all over the place, and I’m pretty sure some of them are just spam machines. About six years ago I posted an entry called “The Three Little Pigs” and it gets hit *all the time.* That could be a google thing. Not sure. Wayyyyyyyy back I had the lyrics to a Willie Nelson song posted on my site and people kept hitting that. So I privatized it. Problem solved.

    Reply
  4. jsolberg

    @ordinarybutloud – I believe I failed as a writer here in not making clear that this particular reader is welcome to read as much as he/she desires, but that I’m fairly sure it’s someone I know, and am real curious. Mebbe ‘lurker’ is, unknown to me, a fighting word/weasel word? Or maybe the date-rape metaphor was a bit overwrought? Idk, I thought it apt at 5AM. Hmm.. WWJD?

    Reply
  5. jsolberg

    @ordinarybutloud – OBL, a truly equivalent situation would be one where you’d been seeing daily multiple Footprints listed as ‘Texas’, and a check of your more-professional alternate tracker ID-er them as using “Podville-Aether, Inc,” as the carrier, for example. Or perhaps if you have a strong, intense, and even stormy connection to another geographic locale, you’d see them anonymously emanating from that place.I ‘softened’ the post, to reflect my actual perplexed-ness. as opposed, god-forbid, to anger. As I’ve said like a broken record, I only want to know who my Friend is.Thanks so much for helping me to think here. I’ve learned to value your discerning mental prowess:)

    Reply
  6. jsolberg

    @ordinarybutloud – Good point, I was merely speaking hypothetically of course. Strike the state reference and have my testimony read “Anystate, USA”. The jury will be instructed to ignore this slip. if they can, ha.(In retrospect, I could have been more discrete in my exploratory efforts. Q: Did I most want to nail down an identity, or badger the witness?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

